University Seal

The university seal was officially adopted by the Board of Trustees in 1950. It was adapted from an earlier version developed in 1915 by H. H. Stone, a mathematics teacher, librarian, and treasurer of Emory College. That seal marked the chartering of the university and the school’s move from Oxford to Atlanta. The university seal includes an interpretation of the Emory wordmark, and a crossed torch and trumpet representing the light and the dissemination of knowledge, respectively. Symbolizing the university’s two aims, to discover and proclaim knowledge, the seals are encircled by the university’s motto, Cor prudentis possidebit scientiam (“The wise heart seeks knowledge”). This motto was first used by Emory in 1890. The university seal is reserved for use by the president, the Board of Trustees, and in commencement materials. The president’s seal is reserved for the Office of the President.

university & president's seals


Coat of Arms

The coat of arms was commissioned by former Emory President James Laney in 1978 and was designed by Professor George Cuttino, who was then the university’s chief marshal and a professor of medieval history. The coat of arms has the torch and trumpet crossed on the shield, much as we see them today, with the lamp of learning above the shield and the motto underneath. This historical Emory design integrates an earlier rendering of the torch and trumpet as well as the Emory wordmark. A display of the coat of arms can be found in the Miller-Ward Alumni House as a wood relief accenting the fireplace. There is also a beautifully detailed stained-glass window that features it. These are two historical representations of the coat of arms on campus, both of which document Emory’s visual history. 

The Emory shield now has evolved from the coat of arms and has replaced it as a primary element of the current Emory visual brand strategy. The Emory wordmark was retooled in 1999. The coat of arms is no longer used.

 coat of arms--no longer used